Call for Submissions–Phyllis Dain Library History Dissertation Award

Phyllis Dain Library History Dissertation Award: FIRST CALL

The Library History Round Table (LHRT) of the American Library
Association (ALA) sponsors the biennial Phyllis Dain Library History
Dissertation Award. The award, named in honor of a library historian
widely known as a supportive advisor and mentor as well as a rigorous
scholar and thinker, recognizes outstanding dissertations in English in
the general area of library history. The author of the selected
dissertation will receive a certificate and five hundred dollars.

Eligibility and Criteria
The Phyllis Dain Library History Dissertation Award is offered in
odd-numbered years. Dissertations completed and accepted during the
preceding two academic years are eligible. Dissertations from 2014-2015
and 2015-2016 will be considered for the 2017 award.

Dissertations must be original research on a significant topic relating
to the history of libraries during any period, in any region of the
world. Entries are judged on clear definition of research questions
and/or hypotheses, use of appropriate primary resources, depth of
research, superior quality of writing, and significance of conclusions.
The LHRT is particularly interested in dissertations that place the
subject within its broader historical, social, cultural, and political
context and that make interdisciplinary connections with print culture
and/or information studies.

Submissions and Selection
The winning dissertation will be selected by the Phyllis Dain
Dissertation Award Committee appointed by the LHRT vice chair/chair
elect. The winner will be announced in a press release on or about June
1st of the award year. A certificate honoring the author will be
presented at the LHRT Awards Ceremony during the ALA Annual Conference.

Four paper copies of the dissertation and a letter of support from a
faculty member at the degree-granting institution are required. Fax and
e-mail submissions are not acceptable. Submissions must be received by
January 20, 2017.  Please include contact information. Receipt will be
confirmed within four business days.

Submit manuscripts to

LHRT: Dain Award Committee
Office for Research and Statistics
American Library Association
50 East Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611

Further Information
The above information, as well as a list of previous winners, is
available at

The 2017 Phyllis Dain Library History Dissertation Award Committee

Sharon McQueen, Chair

Megan Browndorf
Georgetown University

J. Michael Hunter
Brigham Young University

Barry W. Seaver
Durham Technical Community College

Sharon McQueen, Ph.D.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s